Skip to content

ginger soup

condensed entertainment news

If I am only given one opportunity to convince my readers, as few of you as there may be, to do one thing, and that is my only shot, then I hope you watch the BBC’s Sherlock.

I’m not talking about the Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law films, which aren’t too shabby I must say. I’m talking about the show that is a modern adaptation of the popular novels of the last three centuries (the first was published in the late 1800s), starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman (Fun Fact: both are to star in the much-anticipated Peter Jackson film, The Hobbit).

The plots are great. Each episode is based on a different story, you know, just updated a bit. Granted, this means each episode is around 80 minutes long (at least) which makes them more like full-blown movies, but that’s part of why I love them so much. Each season consists of three episodes, so they’re more like mini-series if you compare than U.S. television seasons.

The filmography is amazing. Going along with the idea that each episode is pretty much a film, the creators have taken great care to make sure that their shots and transitions are never stuffy. From the intro which shows different shots of London, to their use of text on the screen helps keep the show very engaging. It would be so easy to just show a close-up shot of Sherlock’s phone when he has received a text message, completely losing his reaction without incorporating some clumsy shot of his face. Instead, the text floats near him and moves with him, so you’re able to get the full effect.

(Here’s is a video of the intro for Sherlock.)

Finally, the characters are hands down the most fantastic part of Sherlock. Everyone by now has heard of “bromance” and no show does it better than Sherlock. Further, the most fun part about Sherlock is the fact that you get to see Sherlock and Dr. Watson meet and watch their bromance grow through their shared experiences of almost getting killed…a few times. I could gush so, so much more about just this one aspect of the show, but I fear I will give too much of the plot away.

Instead, I just urge every one of you to at least watch the pilot. I am fully confident you will be hooked from there. Lucky for you, the first season of the show is available on Netflix and has been airing after another recently popular show Downton Abbey on PBS.

Tags: , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

